An Assault is No Joke. It Can be Charged as a Misdemeanor or a Felony
In Texas, if you place another person in imminent apprehension of bodily harm or offensive contact, you can be charged with the criminal offense of assault Attorney San Antonio. The fact that you didn’t cause any physical harm is irrelevant. The mere threat is sufficient, so long as the other person is aware of the fact that the assault is taking place.
Ways to Be Charged
According to our
assault attorney in San Antonio
a person can be charged with assault in one of the three following ways:
- By threatening another person with imminent bodily harm.
- Intentionally causing injury to another person.
- Intentionally causing offensive contact when you know that such contact would be offensive to the victim.
Misdemeanor assault in Texas is a Class A misdemeanor that is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine not to exceed $4,000, but if there is no physical injury, the crime drops to a Class C misdemeanor punishable by a fine of up to $500. In some cases, the offense of assault might even be charged as a felony, like if you assault somebody when you are using a weapon.
There are several different types of defenses to an assault charge in Texas. If you’ve been arrested for assault in or around San Antonio, don’t give the police any type of statement or confession. It will only be used against you to try and convict you. Contact an assault attorney in San Antonio at the Law Offices of Jesse Hernandez right away to arrange for a free consultation and case review. You deserve quality and effective representation.